A DAY IN THE LIFE OF AN INTERNET JUNKIE

Posted on August 1, 2011. Filed under: Kosher Recipe, My Ramblings, Recipes, Side Dish, Tried and True Recipe | Tags: , , , , |


First of all, let me tell you that in my rl as in my online life, I am a  pack rat.  I love to collect things and thus I love to surf and find new and fascinating websites.  So, today, I want to add to my blogroll, but I can’t do that without posting…so I thought I would give you a glimpse into a typical day of an internet junkie…I get up, do that toilet thing, take my morning meds (no matter if it’s at noon!), eat, and spend the next four hours at the computer…then it’s time for more meds…lunch…and then the big decission…housework, cook, read, play online games, crochet, knit or surf the net…guess what has been winning…what do I do online?  Just about everything…

I have a thirst for knowledge and the internet keeps my brain pumping.  Is that such a bad thing?  Depends upon who you ask…my hubby, my mom, my step-kids or me…you see, I always wanted to be a perpetual student, but could never afford to be one.  I could spend all my life in college.  Well, that almost happened as it took me 9 years to get my bachelors degree.  You see, I’m not a good student, just a hooked on learning student.  There is a big difference.  I always said, if I had a memory, I would be dangerous.  I say this because the biggest stumbling block I had in becoming a good student was my lack of memory.  I just don’t retain things…except materialistic things :)…so when it came to exams forget it.  I tried cramming and I tried good study habits…neither ever seemed to work for me, although cramming at the last-minute seemed to work best.

So, I love to Google and Stumble!.  I love to put keywords into search engines and learn and I love to share that learning.  So, that is really what this website is about…but for now, I will share a recipe from my personal collection and some more links on my blogroll!  I hope you enjoy those links as well as I do!  Now, here is the recipe for today…oops, before that, I have been thinking of having a definite posting schedule…I will post that on another post today…now without further adieu…

Baked Beans 'n Apples
===============================
6 slices Bacon, diced*
1/2 cup Chopped Onion (1 medium onion)
2 cans Brick Oven Baked Bean**
1/4 cup Firmly packed Brown Sugar
1 teaspoon Ginger
2 tablespoons Molasses
2 Apples; each cut into 16 thin wedges

*NOTE: For those of you who keep Kosher, as I do, I use Beef Frye when
making this recipe. **Ingredient List should read: 2 (16-ounce) cans
brick oven baked beans. Again, for those of you who keep Kosher, I use
Heinz Vegetarian Baked Beans. 

In large skillet, fry bacon until partially cooked. Drain, reserving 2
tablespoons of the drippings. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover.
Simmer until thoroughly heated and apple is tender. At this point, I
usually put everything into a GREASED, COVERED casserole and bake at
350° Fahrenheit for maybe a half an hour, checking to make sure it
doesn't dry out.  

Makes 8 (1/2-cup)servings

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION:  1/2 cup = 1 serving

Calories 210
Protein 8g
Carbohydrates 39g
Fat 3g
Sodium 425mg
Potassium 395mg

TIP:  To bake in oven, heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Reserve
apple slices for topping.  Pour beans into a GREASED 1 1/2 to 2 quart
casserole and top with sliced apples.  Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit
for 35-45 minutes OR until bubbly and THOROUGHLY heated.

I make this for BBQ Brings A Dish To Pass party.  Everyone raves about
it, especially my husband and my father.  I have been making this
recipe for years, but have never tasted it myself as I don't like baked
beans!  My Mom used this recipe, but makes hers without any meat.
Those who have tasted it with the meat like it better with the beef
frye (or bacon).  I add molasses at the request of my husband and he
tells me it's better with the molasses. I first made this recipe for
our Nosheri Too group, a singles group I started before Paul and I got
married.

Servings: 8
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

