A HOME COMING TEEN STYLE

Posted on August 8, 2011. Filed under: Chocolate, Desserts, Ethnic Recipe, Kosher Recipe, Recipes | Tags: |


At approximately 7:00 this morning, an El Al touched down in New York City carrying my precious Grandson, who after spending 6 weeks in Israel finally came home.  I waited from 5:00 a.m. until approximately 8 a.m. to hear from his parents that he was home safely…a grandmother does worry! 🙂 Finally, I called my step-daughter’s cell phone and asked, “Do you have my grandson?”  “Yes, I do and you can have him,” was what she replied.  I thought that was rather strange as she’s been missing him so much that she called me more often than usual.  I can’t blame her, I’m soooo interesting to talk to 🙂  Anyhow, she hands Marc her cell phone and I welcomed him home with some basic, grandmotherly questions.  Here is how our conversation basically went:

ME:  Hi, Marc, welcome home!

MARC:  Oh, hi.

ME:  Bet you’re exhausted!

MARC:  Well, let’s put it this way, my internal clock tells me that it’s 5 p.m.

ME:  Jet lag, eh?

MARC:  Yeah.

ME:  Bet your glad to be in air-conditioning.

MARC:  Yeah.

ME:  What was the high point of your trip?

MARC:  Let me get my thoughts together before I answer that.

ME:  Ok.  Do you think you’d like to live in Israel?

MARC:  I don’t know.  I have to get my thoughts together.

Now folks, Marc is a very smart, learned young man, probably the most learned, at this point anyhow, than my other two very smart grandchildren.  He is the eldest after all…but, you can certainly tell that from our conversation, can’t you.  But, in fairness to my dear grandson, he was exhausted, he’s been in high gear attending all kinds of seminars and excursions for the past six weeks, added to the fact he was with some of his best friends, and I was the grandma, dutifully waiting to hear all about the exciting things he experienced.  So, being the best grandma in the world, I will patiently wait a bit longer!

In Marc’s honor, I wanted to post an Israeli dessert recipe.  I have plenty of Jewish recipes, but no Israeli recipes that I have tested out.  So, I went to our trusty internet and found a recipe that sounds like one I want to make for the upcoming Jewish High Holidays and that I would share it with you.  This recipe came from kosherfood.about.com.

Israeli Chocolate Rugelach (Dairy)

By , About.com Guide

Chocolate Filled RugelachChocolate Filled Rugelach

Giora Shimoni

  • While I prefer rugelach filled with preserves and nuts, my kids like chocolate filled rugelach the best. Americans tend to fill their chocolate rugelach with mini-chocolate chips, while Israelis tend to make their own chocolate filling. The Israeli version of chocolate rugelach, which usually includes a touch of cinnamon, is more interesting in my opinion.

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • DOUGH:
  • 7 ounces (200 grams) butter
  • 8 ounces (250 grams) cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • CHOCOLATE FILLING:
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup grated bitter-sweet chocolate
  • butter, melted
  • TOPPING:
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Preparation:

1. In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and cream cheese together. Add sugar and vanilla, and mix until smooth. Add flour and mix lightly. Refrigerate dough for an hour or more.
2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
3. Divide the dough into four balls. On a floured surface, using a floured rolling pin, roll one ball out into a circle until about 1/8 inch thick.
4. In a small bowl, mix the first four filling ingredients together (cocoa, cinnamon, sugar, grated chocolate). Spread some melted butter on the center of the circle. Sprinkle the chocolate mixture on top.
5. Cut the pastry into pie-shaped wedges. For bite-size and nice looking rugelach, the thick end of the wedge should about an 1 to 1 1/2 inch wide.
6. Start at the wide edge of the wedge and roll the dough up toward the point.
7. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Place each pastry, seam side down, on the paper.
8. Brush each pastry with the egg and sugar.
9. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden.

TIPS:
1. Using too much filling leads to messy looking rugelach.
2. A pizza cutter makes it easier to cut the dough into pie-shaped wedges.
3. If you don’t want to use parchment paper, you can spray the cookie sheets with non-stick spray.
4. After rolling the dough up and placing on the parchment paper, you can stick them in your freezer. When you need fresh rugelach, take them right from the freezer into the oven and add a few minutes to the baking time.

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

