Election Time Is Almost Here…

Posted on August 13, 2011. Filed under: My Ramblings, U.S. Politics, U.S. PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION 2012 | Tags: , |


U.S. Presidential Election 2012

PLEASE GET OUT AND VOTE

I was just talking to my husband about President Obama’s health care package being declared unconstitutional.  That got me thinking about the elections…and guess what…elections are less than 3 months away, if I counted on my fingers correctly!  I was wondering about a couple of questions…please comment and give me your answers!

1.  Do you know who you will be voting for?  I know, the Republicans don’t have a firm candidate yet, but if they picked their front-runner of this moment, Mitt Romney, would you know better?  What about the Tea Party Candidates and the other fringe party choices?

2.  What do you think of people who vote for the fringe parties?  Are they wasting their votes, or perhaps one day will they get the change(s) in government that they are seeking?

3.  If you do not know who you are going to vote for, who will you ask for guidance?  You spouse/significant other, your children/grandchildren, your mother, your father, your workmates, or your friends?  Why?

At this moment in time, I am one of the undecided.  I am going to seriously consider all candidates, but for once, I am not going to let my party affiliation sway me.

I do think that it is nice to have more than two choices but I think that voting for one of the fringe parties may hurt my main-line candidate, whomever that will be.  I would like to see a third major party emerge in my life-time.  One who will truly be for the people.

My choice of advisers is my grandchildren.  I think they know more about politics than we think, after all, they are currently studying history which has been revised in many ways since I was in school, and I would hope they still study current events.  I also think they are more innocent in their choices, however, I am cognizant of the fact that they are highly motivated by their parents’ choice(s).  So, I will discuss issues with my hubby who I trust totally, and his opinion with be weighed with that of my grandchildren.  I will also discuss with my friend, Rob, who has a much different political outlook than I do, and works for the government, so I think he is informed in a different manner than I am.  And then there is my very opinionated step-son-in-law, whom I dearly love, but besides being opinionated, he is highly intelligent and knowledgeable about current events and the issues.  I will read the newspapers more closely beginning in September, and, of course, get my news from the Internet.  Will that be enough, or too much?  Will I still be confused when I get into the voting booth?  Only time will tell.  I will try to keep you posted on my feeling and opinions…this is a free country right?  We have freedom of speech and so I give you the gift of freedom of speech here, but ask no hatred, no spam, no violent posts or threats.  Otherwise…feel free!

 

Graphic Credit:  http://mittromneycentral.com

DISCLAIMER:  Although I found the graphic I used for this post on Mitt Romney’s website, this does not mean that I am or am not endorsing Mr. Romney for President.  ~Marilyn Sultar

 

 

 

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

