WHAT DO YOU DO ON THOSE SLEEPLESS NIGHTS?

Posted on August 18, 2011. Filed under: Chocolate, Dairy, Desserts, Internet Finds, Online Games, Online Jigsaw Puzzles, Rainy Day Foods, Recipes, Tried and True Recipe | Tags: , , |


It is 7:26 a.m. on Thursday, August 18, 2011 and I have not been to bed yet.  I have been wide awake and, admittedly a bit bored, as when I pull these inadvertent, unintentional all-nighters (remember the days when we pulled them on purpose!?! 🙂 … well for me those are long gone!).  For some reason, I can’t knit, crochet or do anything else but sit at the puter.  I hope for inspiration to hit me so I can write something useful or a bit humorous for all of you to read.  Usually, I begin by playing some Kingdom Solitaire, which is a mindless, fun version of Solitaire.  I play between 1-4 rounds before I’m bored with that, then I go to thejigsawpuzzles.com and put together 1-2 puzzles of varying sizes, but my preference is the 150 piece custom puzzles.  If you like to do jigsaw puzzles this is a great site!  They add new puzzles everyday and if you register (free) you can make puzzles out of your own photos or other graphics.  I made one yesterday from a favorite photo I shot in Myrtle Beach last year.  I made the mistake of chosing the elegant cut.  If you don’t have lots of time and patience…don’t choose the elegant cut!!!  It took me almost 3 hrs. to solve.

After I get through those, I sometimes play Majhong World.  I like this version of Majhong for its variety of layouts and its relaxing music.  However, I wish someone out there would come up with a version like the real American version of Majhong, which is not a matching game so much as a type of gin rummy game.  I’ve been playing that version since I was about 8 years old!  I used to love when my Mom would have her friends over to play.  We always got lots of goodies the next day!

After that, it’s time to surf the web.  I wrack my wee brain out trying to come up with interesting topics to Google.  Then I Stumble!  Sometimes I do find interesting things, for instance today I StumbledUpon! Ta Do Lists and Pearltrees.  I’ll add them to my Blogroll tomorrow…as it’s just about time for me to take my meds so I can go to sleep…oy!  LOL

But in honor of all this rambling, I thought I would post a recipe for one of the desserts my Mom used to serve on Maj nights.  Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!  This is one of my all-time favorite recipes.

BTW, please tell me what you do on those sleepless nights…it may help me too…I hope this post helped you.  If not, make this recipe and enjoy…and enjoy even if you don’t have a sleepless night!


Mom's Mahjong Pudding Cake
=========================
Chocolate Pudding Mix
Milk
Graham Crackers
Whipped Cream

Make chocolate pudding as directed on box. Put in refrigerator to cool. 
Line 8 x 8 cake pan with graham crackers. Put a layer of chocolate 
pudding on top. Another layer of crackers. Another layer of pudding. 
End with topping of crushed graham crackers. Cut into squares to serve. 
Top with dollop of whipped cream. One of my favorites!!


Exported from Home Cookin 6.45 (www.mountain-software.com)


Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “WHAT DO YOU DO ON THOSE SLEEPLESS NIGHTS?”

RSS Feed for atzimmes Comments RSS Feed

Well, I spent a chunk of last night in the emergency room, but I suppose that’s not very helpful. Usually, I wind up using my laptop or DS until I can’t keep my eyes open.

I have the odd sleepless night, normally caused by an overdose of caffeine! I tend to play Countdown on my Nintendo DS, Pyramid Solitaire on Facebook and Blackjack on my mobile. Failing that I get out my notebook and start designing future projects. I’ve learnt to not worry that I’m not sleeping – if my body needed sleep it would get on with it. I think that sometimes my sleeplessness is because I haven’t worked my brain hard enough during the day as I often become a bit nocturnal in my holidays from work.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

