THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING PETER PAN – FUN LINKS

Posted on September 1, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |


Dark Ages of Camelothttp://darkageofcamelot.com/

Dark Age of Camelot is a 3D medieval fantasy MMORPG (massively multiplayer online role-playing game)

that revolves around war between three realms following King Arthur‘s rule.  DAoC includes both Player versus Environment and Realm versus Realm combat. Players can choose to adventure alone or join groups. Players may also join battle groups, which are formed so all members are able to get completion of credit in large scale Player vs. Enemy (monster) encounters and for communication purposes in RvR (realm vs. realm).

I played DAOC for many years, until I was talked into abandoning it for The World of Warcraft.  I enjoyed my time there and highly suggest this as a fun game.  I met many great people during my stint there as head of the best guild that ever was, Mystical Realm of Asgard.  I loved that we had our own guild house to hold virtual meetings and parties in, and that we each could get our own homes.  I really loved riding a virtual horse.  This was the first game I had done that in!  I thought the graphics were great also.  My only complaint is that in our home realm it was usually gloomy and dark.

World of Warcraft

World of Warcrafthttp://us.battle.net/wow/en/

World of Warcraft (WoW) is also a MMORPG. World of Warcraft takes place within the Warcraft world of Azeroth.  With 11.1 million subscribers as of June 2011, World of Warcraft is currently the world’s most-subscribed MMORPG, and holds the Guinness World Record for the most popular MMORPG by subscribers.

I love WoW.  I love the people I have met and I love the graphics.  It is a lot of fun to play with many types of play available, PvP, RvR and PvE.  (PvP is Player vs. Player battle).  What I enjoy most is crafting and fishing.  I also love to swim and explore under water, although it took me a while to learn that skill!  I also like that the powers that be have a routine weekly scheduled maintenance time where they sometimes give us more quests, or new treasures, or a holiday or special event scenario.   And the answer is “yes, we senior citizens do play these games and our numbers are growing!”

NON-ROLE PLAYING  GAMES & PUZZLES

Games.com has a decent Pinochle game that you can play solo or play real time with real players.  There are many other games that you can play including Whist, Majhong, Chess, and Canasta.  After a while you will probably want to fork over money to purchase a subscription.

Mahjong World

Majhong World is by far my favorite version of Majhong.  For you real world Maj players, this is nothing like the game you play.  It is more a matching game.  Majhong world has lots of formations to choose from and the graphics are beautiful, as is the relaxing music.  If you have never tried Majhong, try it here!  If you are a seasoned player, try Majhong World!  Don’t bother playing the online version at this website.  Download the trial full version.  I liked it so much I purchased it.

At Online Free Gaming you can find a cute version of Majhong called Alcapone Majhong, tiles are based on the famous gangster.  There are many other games to choose from at this site.

Backgammon, Euchre, Spades, Cribbage, Hearts and Trivia can all be found at a great site called Safe Harbor Games.  I like this site as you can open up the game board to full screen, it’s free, and I didn’t have to wait an hour to play!  It is real time-real people play.  I liked the nautical setting also. I met a nice man there by the name of Pirate1.  BTW, ladies he’s looking for one!  And he tells me he’s Irish <wink to Pirate1>.  Look for him there and tell him spartica says “hello!”

The best game site for Slots and Bingo is by far Winster.com and I would go so far as to say this is the best game site to play on.  Everyone is friendly and everyone helps one another, especially when you play Slots.  You can play free or subscribe.  I subscribe because I hate ads!  Also if you subscribe you get extra points toward real prizes.  I know there are a few more games on Winster, but I haven’t tried to play them.

A Place To Make Friends!

Another favorite of mine is IWin.com.   This is a try-it-before-you-buy-it game website.  They have several types of games to download.  You can subscribe to get lower prices, but I found it more economical not to subscribe.  My favorite game is Solitaire Kingdom.  It’s easier than the normal Solitaire game and lots more fun!  I liked it so much that I purchased it.  My husband is addicted to it!  As you play the games, you earn “opals” which you spend on decorating your hotel room(s) which you get free when you reach certain point levels (based on playing time).  I currently am decorating 8 rooms!  There are also social games here such as Family Feud.  The only drawback is that the game designers seem to be predisposed to designing mostly time-management and hidden object games.

Tams11 is a game server website that allows you to download free games to play solo or with online players.  It is basic, no real frills.  You can find Hand and Foot, Euchre, Cribbage, Hearts, Spades, Hangman,  Jumblelaya, Dartzee, Backgammon, Dominos, Bingo and more here.  This is free for a trial period, but when the trial period is over, in order to play with other players you must subscribe for a fee.  But, if you can’t afford that, play solo.  It still keeps your mind active!

PUZZLES

The best jigsaw puzzle website that I have found!

My favorite website for jigsaw puzzles is The Jigsaw Puzzles.com located at.  This is by far the best jigsaw puzzle site for many reasons.  It is the only site that I have found where you can enlarge the pieces, solve the edges first and can choose puzzles from 50-200 pieces.  You can even upload your own photos or graphics and make puzzles from those!  Best of all, it’s all free!

Boatload Puzzles boasts 40,000 free crossword puzzles.  I like it because there is a “solve the letter button” to help you complete the puzzle.  Also, as you type your answers, if a letter does not belong it will show up in red.  A nice feature is that it allows you to print out the puzzle so you can solve it with a pencil like you would do a newspaper crossword.

Webwords in an awesome sight with many types of word games; crossword puzzles that you get graded on which is a feature I really like, and you can change the options to print out.  If you click on the “solve” button, you can choose whether to get a letter clue or for it to solve a word.  Like Boatload, if you type in the wrong letter, it will turn red.  You can also print the crossword puzzles out.  Very nice smoothly music in the background too!  You can find an anagram game called Savvygram Word Game and even a crossword puzzle helper.  I highly recommend this site.

Jumble Puzzles straight from the newspaper can be found at Uclick Games.  Warning…these are the same puzzles you get in that day’s paper.  Another  fun word game you can play at Uclick Games is Jumble Solitaire.  There are other word games at this site, but I haven’t tried them out yet.

If you love Cryptograms as much as I do, you don’t have to look any further than Puzzle Baron’s Cryptograms.  There are even monthly solving competitions you can enter to see if you can solve a puzzle quicker than anyone else can.

Trivia lovers, I have spent money a night working my brain at this great trivia site called Fun Trivia Quizzes.  Take some time and try your luck here.

KNITTING AND CROCHETING

Wonderful site for knitters and crocheters to meet and help one another.

Check out Ralvery.com if you are a knitter or crocheter.  This is a great community for those who partake in one or both crafts.  You will find groups to join and links to just about everything pertaining to them!  I started a group there called Purl Jam.  Check us out!

Crochet ‘N More is an excellent site for free crochet patterns and basic crochet instruction.  I go there often for patterns.

Craft Freely is another excellent site for free patterns.  You can find knitting, crocheting and sewing patterns for free at this site.  I printed out an adorable crocheted and beaded card case pattern to make soon.  It’s been on my to-do list for a while, but I have other projects that I am currently working on.

A source for free knitting patterns and instructions is Knitting On the Net.  There is a wealth of patterns here for all kinds of things.

Knit Picks is a wonderful website that sells patterns for knitters and crocheters, although they do have some freebies.  Sign up to receive their snail mail catalog.  I look forward to get mine every month.  The yarns they have for sale look gorgeous.  I haven’t purchased anything for myself yet, but I did purchase a gift certificate for a good friend of mine and she loved the yarn that she got with it.  We have discovered that this site has some of the best prices for yarns you can find.

COMPUTER CRAFTS

Ok, I confess, I am a Martha Stewart fan.  You can find directions for making many computer craft items.  I love computer crafting and was very active in it until a couple of years ago.  Now I’m into reading and crocheting.  One cannot do everything at the same time, after all! J  Go to Martha Stewart.com to find directions for all types of crafts to check out her section of computer craft patterns.  I really love the butterfly table cloth and napkins pattern!  If you are new to computer crafting, be forewarned that you need a computer, printer and a photo editing computer program in order to do computer crafting.  If you can afford it, I strongly suggest Adobe Photoshop!

Maggie Made It is a great website for computer and other crafts.  Her instructions are great and she even has a link for a craft chat room at her site!  I highly recommend this website to everyone who likes to craft.

You can learn how to make computer greeting cards, without using a photo editing program, on Utube.  The instructions call for using Microsoft Word.  I prefer to use software such as Printmaster or Printshop for designing my computer cards.  It’s much easier and comes out looking more professional, I think.  In programs such as these, there are many templates for making greeting cards, business cards, wrapping paper, gift bags and many other craft projects.  They are user friendly, but you should read the manual to get the real benefits out of these powerful programs.  I love to make magnets using these programs.  Many years ago, my Sister and I threw my parents a big anniversary party.  I made thank-you gifts using the graphics that I designed the invitations with and putting the party’s honoree’s names, the occasion, the date of the party and the location of the party.  No one within our family-friends circle had seen anything like it before.  I also made my parents a big candy wrapper with the same graphics and information as a memento.  My Mom loved it!  She still has it and it’s been about 11 or 12 years now since we threw the party.

The best digital scrapbook website that I know of. Active community. Great Art.

There are two types of scrapbooking…traditional and digital.  Well, let’s make those three types, as there is also hybrid-scrapbooking which combines the other two types.  I do all 3, but, my favorite is digital.  I love designing my layouts in Photoshop CS3.  I can get very creative and do my own thing, which is fun because I never had an idea of how my layouts or my layout elements will turn out.  Don’t get the idea that digital scrapbooking is free.  While there are many “freebie” elements available on the Net, digital scrapbooking can get as expensive as the traditional method of scrapping.  It’s addictive!  It’s fun and you may even make some new friends along the way.  The digital scrapbooking community is a friendly one and most people are patient and willing to help you learn different techniques.  Soon you will be designing your own backgrounds, your own titles and “stickers,” and you may even discover cool things like Photoshop’s “actions.”  It is an exciting world!  Barring none, Scrap Girls is the best digital website there is.  Their prices are a bit higher than most, but the quality is fantastic!  The artists are first rate.  They hold contests and challenges with something going on all the time!  Sign up for their daily newsletter.  You will learn new things in each issue and each issue has a “freebie” link for an element or a background.  Sometimes they will even have a link for a “quick page” layout.

There a many websites and blogs dedicated to the art of scrapbooking.  I have a ton bookmarked.  And I receive many newsletters for this topic.  Another of my favorite digital scrapbooking site is Mangels Designs.  I signed up for their lifetime membership.  It is well worth the money as you have lifetime access to the website and they have some really nice elements such as frames.

Miscellaneous Crafts

A Great All-Purpose Crafting Website!

I really like Craft Test Dummies.  Not only do I love the name of the blog, but it is filled with great craft projects such as Halloween Shoes, and  the Polymer Clay Shamrock Pin  but they review craft projects and report to us on their findings and they host contests, for those who like to enter contests.  This is definitely a must see site for crafters.

Go to Kitchen Crafts & More for some great money saving recipe for cleaning solutions and beauty aides.  Yes, they also have normal to eat recipes.  They is a great website!  My favorites are the recipes for  the Daily Shower Cleaner Recipe , Almond and Honey Bubble Bath, and all of their craft recipes!

Ok, that’s it for now.  My hubby will kill me if I spend any more time on this article!  LOL

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

