TRADITION, TRADITION – THE RECIPES

Posted on September 7, 2011. Filed under: Cakes, Chocolate, Comfort Foods, Dairy, Desserts, Dinner/Supper, Ethnic Recipe, Parve, Poultry, Rainy Day Foods, Recipes, Rochester, Snacks, Soup, Traditions, Tried and True Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |


One of the things I love about my religion is that after most services, we have a social hour called “the kiddish.”  Everyone gathers in the synagogue’s social quarters and a shot of wine is poured for each adult and a shot of grape juice for each child.  We say a prayer over the wine, thanking G-d for the fruit of the view and commence to drink our beverage down.  Then we say a prayer over challah (braided egg bread) and break bread together.  When I was a young girl, our synagogue always served herring tidbits, miniature gefilte fish balls, sponge cake and kichel (a dry plain cookie that is mostly air and has a sugar coating on top).  Today, most kiddishim have gotten more elaborate with their baked goods, but you don’t get herring or gefilte fish, and it is rare to see a sponge cake.  Even I don’t bake sponge cakes anymore except on Passover and even then I don’t make a traditional sponge cake, I make a banana sponge cake that our family loves.  But, for traditions’ sake, here is the sponge cake recipe I used to make:

NEVER-FAIL SPONGE CAKE

======================

Ingredients:

9 eggs, separated

1-1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup cake meal

1/4 cup potato starch

Juice and rind of 1 lemon or orange

Beat egg whites until they hold their shape; add sugar slowly. Beat yolks and add lemon juice and rind. Fold in cake meal and potato starch. Fold in beaten yolks. Pour into large size ungreased tube pan.

Bake in 325° or 350° oven for 50-60 minutes. Invert on cake rack and

let cool in pan.

This recipe comes from The Rochester, New York Hadassah cookbook.  It is truly a no-fail recipe and the only sponge cake recipe I ever used.  It is moister than most.  Try it, you’re like it.  Note that  this recipe cake be made for Passover also!  ~Marilyn Sultar

Now, I’m craving the cake!  Hmmm…maybe I’ll make it for Paul soon.  He’d love it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream!  It’s sad that we only make the banana sponge cake now.

For Thanksgiving, I love to make my turkey, but most of you don’t have microwaves like mine (may it last forever!!!!!!).  It’s huge; it is a combination microwave, convection, broiler that Paul and I bought when we first got married.  That makes it 25 years old now.  So, anyhow, I’ll just tell you have I make my basting sauce and tell you that no matter what, baste your turkey every half-hour.  Also, I stuff both cavities of the turkey with ½-1 orange which I squeeze into the turkey cavity first and 1 large onion cut into halves.  If I’m not making in the microwave, I then crush some aluminum foil into a ball and put it into the cavity to keep the onion and orange in there.  I repeat for the second cavity.

MARILYN’S TURKEY BASTING SAUCE

==============================

1 stick Butter OR Margarine

1-2 tbsps. Honey

1/4 cup Orange Juice

1/8 cup Wine (I prefer a sweet wine when I make this sauce)

1 tsp. Poultry Seasoning

1 tsp. Rosemary

1 tsp. Thyme

1 tbsp. Dried Parsley (less if you want to use Fresh Parsley)

1/4 tsp. Garlic Powder

2 tbsp. Dried Onion Flakes (optional)

Put margarine in small saucepan and put on lower heat to begin melting it.  As soon as it begins to melt, add the orange juice, honey and wine.  Stir a bit then add your spices.  Mix well.  Use to baste your turkeys!

I’ve been making my turkeys with this sauce that I made up since I can remember.  I love the bit of sweetness that the honey and wine imparts to the sauce!  Hope you enjoy it.  You can always adjust the seasonings to your own tastes!  ~Marilyn Sultar

My family has many traditions regarding food.  But the one thing we all agree on is that my maternal grandmother’s baked goods were awesome.  My mom’s an awesome cook too.  She just isn’t into it like grandma was.  My paternal grandma without doubt made the best chicken soup in the world.  Unfortunately since we can no longer get things like chicken feet, I cannot duplicate her soup, but I’ve been told that my chicken soup is the best.  If I make nothing else, my stepson and our closest friends who we celebrate the holidays with insist that I make my chicken soup with matzah balls.  So here is my chicken soup recipe:

A Tureen of Chicken Soup – Clipart from Bitsela.com

This recipe is being dedicated to my husband and Scott, Leo, Fernando and Alex!  They are my soup fans!

MARILYN’S CHICKEN SOUP RECIPE

=============================

2 soup (or roasting) Chickens*; each cut into 8ths and washed and cleaned of any feathers

1 lb. Gizzards; washed

1 lb. Chicken Wings; washed and cleaned of any feathers.

1 lb. Chicen Necks; washed

1/4-1/2 bag Petit Carrots

3 large Parships; washed, peeled and cut into slices (not too thin, not too thick)

2 large Onions; each peeled, washed and cut into quarters

2-3 stalks Celery; each washed and the ends cut off, then sliced (not to thin not too thick)

3 heaping tsps. Chicken Boullion Powder or 3 Cubes

1 heaping tbsp. Kosher Salt

1/4 tsp. Freshly Ground Pepper

4-5 Sprigs Fresh Parsley

1 tsp. Poultry Seasoning

Cold Water to cover everything in pot

*It is best to use Kosher Chickens in chicken soup as they have more taste than non-kosher chickens.

Put chicken into A HUGE STOCK POT first and then the rest of the chicken parts.  Cover with water making sure that there is enough water to also cover the vegetables!  Put up to boil on MEDIUM HIGH heat.

Add the vegetables then the spices and herbs.  Also add the chicken bouillon.  Stir everything together.  Bring to a boil.

Turn stove down to low for about 1/2 hour, then turn down to simmer for 4-6 hours, until chicken is cooked and vegetables are tender.  (DON’T OVER COOK AS YOU WILL BE REHEATING THE SOUP MOST OF THE TIME YOU MAKE IT.).  After it is ready, let it cool off enough to put into your refrigerator.  The next day, before you go to serve it, skim off the fat and add water, if necessary.  I usually find it necessary to add more.  Add your already cooked matzah balls and bring all to a boil, then put on simmer until ready to serve.

MATZAH BALLS:  Use the box mix!  It’s easier and just as good. However, if you wish, I do have a wonderful recipe I used to make before I discovered the box mix!!!  Enjoy!  ~Marilyn Sultar

One tradition I have with our friends Leo and Laura when we celebrate Chanukah together at their home is to make too much dessert!  This is one of those “too much dessert” recipes I’ve brought to their home!

CHOCOLATE PASSION BOWL

======================

Prep Time: 20 min

Total Time: 1 hr 20 min

Makes: 16 servings, about 2/3 cup each

What You Need

2 pkg. (3.9 oz. each) JELL-O Chocolate Instant Pudding

3 cups cold milk

1 tub (8 oz.) COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, thawed, divided

1 baked 9-inch square brownie layer, cooled, cut into 1-inch cubes (about 5-1/2

Cups)

2 cups fresh raspberries

Beat pudding mixes and milk with whisk 2 min. Stir in 1 cup COOL WHIP.  Place half the brownies in 2-qt. bowl; cover with layers of half each of the pudding, remaining COOL WHIP and berries. Repeat. Refrigerate 1 hour.

Kraft Kitchen Tips Note If desired, use BAKER’S ONE BOWL Brownies to bake a 13×9-inch brownie layer. Cut enough of the brownie into 1-inch cubes to measure 5-1/2 cups. Reserve remaining brownies for snacking.

Special Extra Chop 2 chocolate-coated caramel-peanut nougat bars (2.07 oz. each). Assemble dessert as directed, topping each layer of raspberries with layer of half the chopped nougat bars.

Substitute Substitute 1 pkg. (12 oz.) marble pound cake, cubed, for the baked brownie square and/or undrained thawed frozen raspberries for the fresh raspberries.

NUTRITION INFORMATION

Nutritional Information PER SERVING Calories 310 Total fat 12g

Saturated fat 4.5g Cholesterol 15mg Sodium 330mg Carbohydrate 49g

Dietary fiber 1g Sugars 35g Protein 4g Vitamin A 2%DV Vitamin C 6%DV

Calcium 6%DV Iron 8%DV

I made for a Chanukah Party at Leo and Laura’s about 2006.  I even have a photo of it, somewhere!  We all loved it.  I made the regular recipe.

Enjoy! ~ Marilyn Sultar

I tried hard to find a recipe from one of the best finds from our mystery trip, Red Osier Restaurant, in Stafford, New York.  As expected, I could not find any online nor in my dbase.  So, I will only say, if you want great food, especially prime rib, this is the place to go.  It’s got lots of atmosphere and is a great place to take a date or to take the family!

When we play games, we like to nosh, so here is one of my recipes for a great snack to have on hand when you play games with your family and friends!

Figure 1 Sea Horse by David W. Cobb

SEASIDE SNACK MIX

=================

7 ounces package Deep Sea-Shaped Cheddar-Flavored Snack Crackers

6 ounces package Tiny Fish-Shaped Parmesan Cheese Crackers

2 cups Oyster Crackers

1-1/2 cups Thin Pretzel Sticks; broken in half

CATEGORIES:  APPETIZES, SNACKS, PARTIES, KIDS, CHEESE/EGGS

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients; toss gently.  Store in TIGHTLY COVERED container.

Yield:  10 1/2 cups.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION:

Calories:  120

Protein:        3 g

Carbohydrates: 17 g

Dietary Fiber:  0 g

Fat:            5 g

Polyunsaturated:    1 g

Saturated:          2 g

Cholesterol:    2 mg

Sodium:       300 mg

Potassium:     35 mg

Dietary Exchanges: 1 Starch, 1 Fat

This is a very easy, fast, wonderful recipe!  Everyone loved it!  I served it in children’s plastic sand pails lined with paper napkins and people served themselves with the matching sand shovels!  What a hit! I served it for the double surprise party we threw for Scott and Rhona on June 12, 1994.

Source:  Pillsbury Classics Cookbook #155, January 1994, “Appetizers And Snacks.” ~Marilyn Sultar

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

