THE ROSH HASHANNAH BAKING COUNTDOWN

Posted on September 10, 2011. Filed under: Cakes, Chocolate Chip, Desserts, Ethnic Recipe, Honey, Jewish, Kosher Recipe, Paerve, Parve, Recipes, Rosh Hashannah Recipes, Tried and True Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |


There are 19 days left before the Jewish Holiday of Rosh Hashannah. In thinking about that, I thought about the 12 Days of Christmas Cookies and thought I’d do a take-off and post a different honey cake recipe each day until we reach the holiday. Some days I will write an article about this or that and some days just post a recipe. There are many places on the Net where you can find out about Rosh Haashannah, which is the Jewish New Year. This year will will be celebrating the year 5772. I will also write my favorite Rosh Hashannah menu with recipes which will include a new recipe for Tzimmes, which is a traditional dish to eat on Rosh Hashannah. So, today, I will start the countdown for DAY 19 with my favorite honey cake recipe.

Please note, the photo of the honey cake is not mine. I didn’t have any photos of one I made, so I admit to lifting this one from a delicious blog called Treat a Week.

One Bowl Honey Cake
===================
1 cup Granulated Sugar
3 cups SIFTED Flour
1-1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1-1/2 teaspoons Baking Soda
1 teaspoon Salt
1 teaspoon Cinnamon
1 teaspoon Allspice
1 teaspoon Ground Cloves
1 teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
1 cup Honey
1 cup STRONG Coffee; COOLED
3/4 cup Oil
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
3 Eggs
1/2 cup Raisins
1/2 cup CHOPPED Nuts

PREHEAT oven to 350° Fahrenheit.

GREASE a tube pan well.

SIFT all dry ingredients into LARGE bowl. Make a well and add all
liquid ingredients. Mix together thoroughly. Add raisins and nuts.

Bake at 350° Fahrenheit for 45-60 minutes in a WELL-GREASED tube pan.

MARILYN’S VARIATION: On September 4, 1991, for Rosh Hashannah, I added
12-ounces of SEMI-SWEET chocolate chips instead of the raisins as I was out of raisins at that time. Also, I omitted the walnuts as I could not eat them. I used Wixon’s Honey, a high grade of honey, and the cake turned out to be THE BEST honey cake ever, which is saying a lot, because the original recipe as I have it here, using regular Sue Bee honey was always good.

This is an excellent honey cake recipe!!! It is my favorite cake for
Rosh Hashannah and it is so easy to make. I fist made this recipe in
it’s original form for a Rosh Hashannah Party in Buffalo, New York on
October 14, 1973. The original recipe came from the “Rochester
Hadassah Cookbook,” my newer edition. ~Marilyn Sultar

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

