Rosh Hashanah Countdown – Day 10

Posted on September 19, 2011. Filed under: Cakes, Cheese, Cookies, Dairy, Desserts, Ethnic Recipe, Honey, Hope, Jewish, Kosher Recipe, My Ramblings, Paerve, Parve, Quote, Recipes, Rosh Hashannah Recipes, Tried and True Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , |


Beginnings by Maria Robinson

Note: Click on above image to read the quote.

This morning I got to thinking, “Wouldn’t it be fun if this New Year I could start my life all over! How would I do it?” Think about it…the possibilities are endless, especially if I was gifted with the knowledge I currently have. For one thing, I would stay in school and stay in the educational community. I should have listened to my Mother. But she wanted me to be a nursery school or kindergarten teacher. She was thinking too young. I love children that age, but I could not handle them as a teacher. I could not handle grammar (elementary) school or high school kids either. They would eat me alive. College age young adults, well that is iffy…no, my calling would have been to be a night school teacher for adults or preferably teach senior citizens new skills. I would have looked more into the computer fields of teaching. I always thought you had to be a math whiz to be in computers. But there are so many components to them that I am sure I could have found a niche.

Well, that’s not possible at this stage of my life, so how will I begin my life over? I don’t believe in making resolutions. They set you up for failure and that’s the last thing I need in my life. I do believe in thinking about possibilities but I haven’t thought about them enough in my life. So this year I am going to tackle my social life. I am going to gradually start living more in the real world rather than the cyber world. I am going to go out of my comfort zone. I’m going to look into doing some volunteer work again as that always made me happy. I’m not sure in what capacity this will take, but I’m going to investigate. I’m also going to concentrate on friendships. That is something I have been neglecting the past few years, and that is something important to me. I am also going to concentrate on communicating with my family members more. So, let’s see what the New Year will bring for me. What will it bring for you? What one or two things will you concentrate on in your life?

For today’s recipes, I’m going to concentrate on cookies. The first one is for my favorite rugelach recipe.

Ginger Ale

CINNAMON NUT RUGELACH
=====================
FLAKY GINGER ALE PASTRY:

1 cup All-Purpose Flour PLUS
1 tablespoon All-Purpose Flour
1/2 cup FROZEN Margarine; cut into 6-8 pieces
1/4 cup Ginger Ale, 7-Up, Fresca OR Soda Water (SOFTA’s Note: I use Ginger Ale.)
1/2 tablespoon Vinegar

FILLING:

2/3 cup Walnuts
1/3 cup Sugar
1 teaspoon Cinnamon
1 Egg White; lightly beaten

FLAKY GINGERALE PASTRY:

With the steel knife in your food processor, process flour and
margarine with on/off turns (about 2-3 seconds at a time) for 4 or 5
times, until the mixture begins to look like coarse oatmeal.

Combine ginger ale with vinegar and add through the feed tube while machine is running. Process JUST UNTIL the dough begins to gather in a mass around the blades, about 8-10 seconds. DO NOT OVERPROCESS!!!

Remove dough from machine, divide into two balls. Wrap each ball in
waxed paper and CHILL IN THE REFRIGERATOR AT LEAST 1 HOUR, OR
OVERNIGHT. The colder the dough, the easier it is to roll. The dough may be frozen at this point if you are not ready to finish making the rugelach. (SOFTA123’S NOTE: You can freeze the baked rugelach also. This recipe freezes well!)

NOTE: This recipe can be doubled in one batch successfully.

Flour dough lightly. Roll one portion of dough on a floured pastry
cloth or floured board. Roll it into a circle about 1/16″ thick.
(SOFTA123’S NOTE: Make sure to keep second ball of dough in
refrigerator until ready to work with it.)

FILLING:

With the steel knife in your food processor, process walnuts, sugar and cinnamon until nuts are fairly fine, about 12-15 seconds.

RUGELACH:

Sprinkle dough with about 1/4 cup of cinnamon/nut mixture. Cut with a SHARP knife into 12 triangles (each circle). Roll triangle up from the outside edge towards the center. Repeat with remaining dough and filling.

Dip the Rugelach first in egg white , then in cinnamon/nut mixture.
Place on a GREASED, FOIL-LINED cookie sheet. bake at 375° Fahrenheit
for 18-29 minutes, until lightly browned.

NOTE: Ingredients for filling may also be doubled successfully in one batch. Extra filling may be stored in a plastic bag in the freezer.

I made this for the first time for my nephew, Dov’s, Bar Mitzvah. They were easy to make and turned out delicious. I then began making them for Rosh Hashannah and my step-son, Scott, loved them. One of the reasons I like this recipe is because it is paerve.

This recipe came from “The Pleasures of Your Processor” cookbook by
Noreen Gilletz. ~Softa123

Almonds

Almond Honey Rugelach
=====================
1 cup butter or margarine, softened
3 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup honey, divided
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup finely chopped almonds
1/2 cup dried cherries or cranberries

Cream butter and cream cheese until fluffy. Add 3 Tablespoons honey and mix well. Mix in flour until dough holds together. Form into a ball, wrap and refrigerate 2 hours or longer.

Divide dough in 4 portions; on a floured board roll each portion into a 9-inch circle. Combine 2 Tablespoons honey and lemon juice; mix well. Brush dough with honey mixture; sprinkle 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon over entire surface.

Combine almonds and dried cherries; drizzle remaining honey over
mixture and mix well. Spread 1/4 of almonds mixture onto circle of
dough, stopping 1/2-inch from outer edge. Cut into 8 triangular pieces.

Roll from wide outer edge toward tip. Gently bend both ends to form a crescent. Place on oiled parchment paper-lined baking sheet and
refrigerate 20 minutes or longer.

Repeat with remaining dough and filling. Bake at 350°F for 20 to 25
minutes or until golden brown. Cool on racks.

Tip: Freezing tip: For longer storage, package unbaked crescents in
freezer-safe container or bags and freeze until ready to bake.
Crescents may be stored in freezer up to 3 months. Thaw before baking.

Servings: 32

Honey Almond Cookies

Honey-Almond Cookies
Source: Diana’s Desserts

Servings: Makes 4 dozen cookies

Comments:

The kids (and the grown-ups too) will love these delicious honey-almond cookies for Rosh Hashanah, bringing you a “sweet” new year! ~ Diana

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup butter or stick margarine, softened
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
1 large egg white
Cooking spray
1/4 cup sliced almonds, chopped

Instructions:

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Combine sugar, honey, butter, and oil in a bowl; beat at medium speed of a mixer until well-blended. Add extracts and egg white to sugar mixture. Beat until well-blended. Stir in flour mixture (dough will be sticky).

Coat hands lightly with cooking spray; divide dough into 2 equal portions. Shape each portion into a 9-inch log. Wrap logs individually in plastic wrap; freeze 3 hours or until firm.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F/190 degrees C. Cut each log into twenty-four 1/4-inch-thick slices, and place 1 inch apart on baking sheets coated with cooking spray. Press almonds into cookies. Bake at 375 degrees F for 9 minutes. Cool 2 minutes or until firm. Remove cookies from pans; cool on wire racks.

Makes 4 dozen cookies.

Original Source: Recipe adapted from Cooking Light
Date: September 14, 2006

St. Remy's Brandy - My Husband's Favorite!

Lekach Honey Cake
=================
1/2 cup strong coffee
1 cup honey
1 tablespoon brandy, optional
2 eggs
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 cups flour
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon cloves

Combine coffee, honey and brandy; mix well. Beat eggs in mixing bowl. Add oil and brown sugar. Combine flour, baking powder, baking powder, baking soda and spices; mix well. Add flour mixture and honey mixture alternately to egg mixture. Pour batter into greased 9-inch square pan.

Bake at 300°F for 55 to 60 minutes or until cake springs back when
lightly touched.

Nutrition: 226 Calories * 3 g Fat Total * 4 g Protein * 36 mg
Cholesterol * 46 g Carbohydrates * 104 mg Sodium * <1 g Dietary Fiber * 13% Calories from Fat *

Servings: 12

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Rosh Hashanah Countdown – Day 10”

RSS Feed for atzimmes Comments RSS Feed

[…] green beans, potato kugel, a sweet tzimmes and cocoa honey cake. Also included here are links for rugelach and honey-almond cookies recipes. At the end you will find the blessings for the holiday […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

