CAKE OR PIE?

Posted on October 11, 2011. Filed under: Betty Crocker Recipe, Birthday Cake, Cakes, Chocolate, Desserts, MINT, My Ramblings, Recipes, Special Occasion Cake, Tried and True Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |


Cake or Pie?

Are you a cake or a pie lover?  For me it’s a hard choice as I like both, but if I had to choose, I would choose cake.  I especially love chocolate cake and chocolate fudge frosting.  I love the taste of chocolate and chocolate together.  But now I’m surprised that I said that because my favorite flavor combination is chocolate mint.  I love anything chocolate mint but then again I do love anything chocolate-chocolate.

The reason I chose cake over pie is that I really am not crazy about pie crusts; even graham cracker crusts just don’t do it for me.  But, I do love pie fillings, especially lemon meringue and apple.

The wonderful thing about cakes is the combinations for each type of cake seem endless.  I’m always finding new cake recipes on the net.  But let’s see how many types of cakes I can think of…

  1. Basic Yellow Cake
  2. Basic White Cake
  3. Basic Chocolate Cake
  4.  Sponge Cake
  5. Chiffon Cake
  6. Passover Yellow Cake
  7. Passover Chocolate Cake
  8. Passover Sponge Cake
  9. Passover Chiffon Cake
  10. Angel Food Cake
  11. Bundt Cake
  12. Pound Cake
  13. Coffee Cake
  14. Depression Cake
  15. Flourless Chocolate Cake
  16. Fruit Cake
  17. Hot Milk Cake
  18. Gingerbread
  19. Red Velvet Cake
  20. Cheesecake
  21. Cupcakes

Twenty-one varieties and that’s not with the sub-categories or variations on each type of cake!  That makes the mind boggle.  We have to remember that different countries have different types of cakes I haven’t listed here, and many I just don’t know about. And here I am, on a fast so I can have blood work done before I go to the doctor tomorrow.  I must be nuts!!!

I would do a cake a day recipe, but there are already so many blogs and websites with that theme, that I won’t bother.  I will post cake recipes from time to time though, when I came across one that sounds really good or one I hadn’t known about before.  Sometimes I’ll post one of my tried and true cake recipes.

Of all the cakes I’ve ever made (and I really don’t bake that much otherwise I’d put on way too much weight!!) my favorites are a chocolate mint layer cake, black forest torte (cake), Passover banana sponge cake, apple cake, spice cake and chocolate cherry cake.  What kind of cake(s) is your favorite kind?

Since cakes and pies is today’s theme, here is a recipe for my favorite cake:

Just wait till you try this awesome cake! It's the perfect cake!

Dark Chocolate Mint Cake

========================

1 package (18.5 ounce) Dark Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix

1 package (7.2 ounce) Fluffy White Frosting Mix

1/4 teaspoon Peppermint Extract

Few drops Green Food Coloring

Chocolate Leaves

CHOCOLATE LEAVES:

1 dozen Clean, Pesticide-Free Leaves of various sizes & shapes

1 square (1 ounce) Semisweet Chocolate OR 1/4 cup Semisweet Chocolate Pieces WITH 1/2 teaspoon Butter

“A delightful combination of colors and flavors. Our darkest chocolate cake is swirled with a delicate mint-green frosting, then gloriously garnished with chocolate leaves.”

Bake cake in layer pans as directed on pkg. Cool.

Prepare frosting mix as directed on pkg. except–thoroughly blend in peppermint extract

and tint w/green food coloring. Fill and frost cake. Decorate with chocolate Leaves.

CHOCOLATE LEAVES:

Wash and dry 1 doz. leaves of various sizes & shapes.  Melt 1 sq. (1 oz.) Semisweet Chocolate OR 1/4 cup Semisweet Chocolate Pieces WITH 1/2 tsp. butter.

Paint chocolate onto backs of leaves, spreading chocolate about 1/8″ thick and just to edges. Freeze until very firm. Quickly peel off real leaves and arrange the chocolate leaves on cake.

This is my VERY favorite cake. It’s fast easy and delicious!  The recipe and photo come from Betty Crocker’s Hostess Cookbook.  The first time I made this recipe was on July 23, 1976 for a Sigma Phi sorority meeting.  ~Marilyn aka Softa123

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

